Berkel, Hauschildt win inaugural Australian IRONMAN 70.3 Championship

LEG LUBE: Tim Van Berkel and 2011 IRONMAN 70.3 champion Melissa Hauschildt were both crowned the Australian Professional 70.3 Champions at the SunSmart IRONMAN 70.3 Mandurah Australia. It came as no surprise that pre-race favorite Clayton Fettell dominated the swim leg and was the first male to enter transition behind Berkel. The tight chase pack of males who flowed through T1 one minute behind the race leaders included Paul Ambrose, James Lewin, Matty White, Cameron Good, Tim Reed, and Jimmy Johnsen. The three clear race leaders for the duration of the 90km bike leg included Clayton Fettell, Tim Van Berkel and New Zealand’s James Bowstead.

In the women’s race it was Melissa Hauschildt who took a convincing win and showed a hot pair of heels on the final kilometers of the 21.1 km run leg ahead of Liz Blatchford and Radka Vodickova, who gained second and third places respectively. Read the whole article at:

Comments are closed.